Texas Extension Education Association, Inc Spring Board Meeting

Texas 4-H Center Leadership Lodge – Brownwood, Texas May 8, 9, 10, 2017

Monday, May 8, 2017:

Meeting called to order by Millie Barrow, President at 7:00 PM.

TEEA prayer led by Kay Jacob

Pledges to the American and Texas flags lead by Dixie Range.

TEEA Creed led by Millie Barrow.

TEEA Motto repeated by all attending.

Thought for the day was presented by Brenda Camp.

Roll Call was called by Rexine Scarborough.

Credentials Report was presented by Glenda Gibson – 22 voting members, 1 advisor, and 2 visitors.

Rexine Scarborough made a motion that the Agenda be accepted. Motion passed.

Rexine Scarborough read the minutes from the Fall Board Meeting and submitted for approval. Minutes were approved.

Millie Barrow welcomed the Board Members and introduced the new Education Chairs

Millie Barrow appointed Carrol Davig, Brenda Camp, and Linda Rogers to approve the minutes. Millie also appointed Tellers Ellen Manning, Barbara Sampson, Edith Jones, and Glenda Gibson.

Millie Barrow appointed Gayle Pomykal to collect Coins for Friendship and Dollars for Scholars.

Kay Jacob presented the Treasurer Report.

Rexine Scarborough read the correspondence received by the Board since the Fall Meeting.

Dr. Joyce Cavanagh gave an update on the Agrilife Extension projects. She is working on a Civil Rights program that can be presented to all TEEA groups.

Millie Barrow recognized Lela Goar for receiving the New Mexico Activity Association Hall of Fame Award. Lela gave a report about what the award represented.

Millie Barrow asked the Board Members to review the nine (9) applications for the Texas Treasurer award to be presented at the State Conference.

Millie Barrow reminded the Board of the Fall Board Meeting at Brownwood, November 8-10, 2017 and the Spring Board Meeting at Brownwood, May 7-9, 2018.

Millie Barrow discussed the State Conference, theme "The Great Outdoors" "Wildlife, Lakes, Wildflowers:

Location – Horseshoe Bay Resort.

Host Districts are 9 and 11.

Board Position Elections for 2017-2019 terms are: President-Elect – Nyanza Price; First Vice President of Leadership – Kay Jacob; Treasurer – candidate is still needed. Please let Millie know if there is a past Board member that would like to be the Treasurer.

Location for future TEEA State Conferences:

2017 – Districts 9 & 11 – Horseshoe Bay

2018 – Districts 6 & 7 – Abilene

2019 – Districts 10 & 12 – open

2020 - Districts 1 & 2 – open

2021 – Districts 3 & 8 – open

Please let Millie know of any locations that she can contact to make a presentation of their facilities available for our conference. Some locations suggested: Georgetown, Round Rock, Corpus Christi, Temple, and Waco.

Rooms are still available under the TEEA Block at Horseshoe Bay at the TEEA rate.

All rooms for the Board Members have been booked for the Conference.

Call 877-611-0112 for reservations.

Meals for the Conference were discussed. Millie will get better information concerning menus and cost of buffets for the District Parties. Millie asked the District Directors to let her know of any special meals they would need.

Millie stated that the lake boat ride would not be available due to the cost.

Millie needs to know what equipment is needed for the workshops so she can get the equipment requested.

The state pins have be ordered and received. Board Members can sign for a number of pins to be sold prior to the Conference and return the money and any unsold pins at the Conference.

Claudine Hare, District Director 9, and Carrol Davig, District Director 11, gave a report on the progress of the Conference:

Optional programs and Early Bird workshops have been planned.

There will be 4 Baskets to take a chance on in the Country Store.

Door prizes will \$ 10.00 bills.

Optional programs can be posted on line if the presenter has information that they can get to Dr. Joyce Cavanagh.

A Master List with information for the IRS 990 filings was sent to the IRS in January. Do not pay for filing if it has been suspended by the IRS. Need to get a SS4 Form to complete and file.

Meeting adjourned at 9:32 PM to resume Tuesday morning.

Tuesday, May 9, 2017:

Meeting called back in session at 8:29 AM by Millie Barrow.

Prayer led by Linda Rogers.

Thought for the day was given by Gayle Pomykal.

Credentials Report was given by Glenda Gibson – 22 voting members, 1 advisor, and 2 visitors.

Board members were reminder to review the Texas Treasurer Award, 9 applications, and vote for the one they feel should receive the award. All members are to vote.

The Leadership Award, 6 applications, will be selected by the Leadership Committee.

Members met with their committees 9:00 AM to 11:52 AM.

Lunch 12:00 – 1:00

Tina Brohlin with the Amarillo Conference & Visitors Center and Jenna Clary with Embassy Suites presented information of their facilities for the 2020 State Conference.

A discussion after the presentation was held.

Committee Meetings resumed 1:45 PM.

Full session resumed at 3:26PM.

Millie Barrow recognized Joyce Cavanagh for receiving the TOP award. Joyce explained how she qualified to receive the award.

Committee Reports were given:

Leadership – Betty Baughn Bylaws – Betty Baughn Manual – Violet Alexander Adult Scholarship – Violet Alexander Credentials – Glenda Gibson Expenditures – Claudine Hare Resolutions – Ellen Manning Alumnae Scholarship - Grace Glaze Election – Clara Jones TEEA Sales – Angela Pierce Finance Review – Clara Jones Media – Gayle Pomykal Approval – Carrol Davig Teller – Claudine Hare Name Badges – Clara Jones Cultural Arts – Carrol Davig Messenger – Lela Goar 4-H Representative – Barbara Sampson

Written reports are in file.

Board Members were asked by Grace Glaze to remember their Silent Auction items for the State Conference.

Lela Goar informed the Board that Texas Women's University has a large cook book library and that if any member has books they would like to donate, they would take them.

Meeting adjourned for dinner 6:00 PM.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017:

Meeting called back in session at 8:30 AM by Millie Barrow.

Prayer led by Betty Baughn.

Thought for the Day was given by Edith Jones.

Millie Barrow announced that Zana M Sharp, Potter County, District 1, will receive the Texas Treasurer award at the State Conference.

District Director Training and Education Chair Committee met for training.

Regrouped at 10:00AM.

Lisa Grinstead from "Visit Lubbock" gave a presentation of the facilities for the State Conference, year 2020.

A discussion of the Lubbock and Amarillo facilities was held. A vote for where the State Conference will be held. Lubbock was selected for 2020.

Joyce Cavanagh gave report of the Education Chair committee meeting.

Kay Jacob and Betty Baughn gave a report on the District Director training.

District Directors were reminded that the Annual Reports are due to County Chair – July 1; District Director – July 15; and to Betty Baughn, Jan Meadows – August 1 with a copy to Millie Barrow.

Millie Barrow would contact locations to have a presentation at the November Board Meeting for years 2019, 2021 State Conferences.

District Directors were reminded that the Registration List, with the money, is to be sent to Kay Jacob with a copy of the list to Lela Goar. Millie Barrow does not need a copy.

Millie Barrow stated that the out going District Directors that do not have a District Director Elect would be asked to extend their office one (1) year to get a new District Director.

Meeting adjourned 11:49 AM.

Approved by committee with corrections, corrections made.

Respectfully submitted:	
Rexine Scarborough, Secretary	
Carrol Davig, Approval Committee	
Linda Rogers, Approval Committee	
Brenda Camp, Approval Committee	